Who is the greatest player of all time?Pele or Maradona?That has always being the argument but in minds of some who never had the chance to see both of them play,that argument is gradually changing with Lionel Messi now in the picture.Some section thinks that honour should go to Messi but not Pele.He is famous for several quotes about Messi's ability.Here are some of his famous quotes
THERE WILL NEVER BE ANOTHER PELE
In January 2012, an irritated Pele told a French journalist exactly what Messi needed to do before comparisons could be made. “When Messi’s scored 1,283 goals like me, when he’s won three World Cups, we’ll talk about it. I like Messi a lot, he’s a great player. Technically, we’re practically at the same level. He’s a great player for Barcelona, but when he plays for Argentina he doesn’t have the same success. People always ask me: ‘When is the new Pele going to be born?’ Never. My father and mother have closed the factory.”
HE IS NOT EVEN AS GOOD AS NEYMAR
Months later, Pele was in another Messi quote debacle when he suggested that the Barcelona was not as good as then Santos poster-boy, Neymar. “Now everyone is talking about Messi; he is a star. But to be the best ever he must first become better than Neymar. At the moment Messi is just more experienced.”
Maradona- Pele’s constant nemesis- stood up for his countryman as he responded by describing Pele’s comment as stupid: “My God, that is just stupid. Maybe Neymar is the best player in the world, but only if you say that Messi is from a different planet.”
And sometime last year,Pele rated Zinedine Zidane above Messi.
He said “Individually, I think Zidane was better than Messi. Zidane was amazing and the team-mates he played with were not the same standard as Messi’s; he plays with Xavi and Iniesta at Barcelona.”
Not even as good as Neymar?Do I smell jealousy on the part of Pele because Messi isn't a Brazilian?

No comments:
Post a Comment